Under the Mistletoe by Sue Moorcroft

As you know, I’m trying to cut back on blog tours but I simply couldn’t resist this latest one for Sue Moorcroft’s Under the Mistletoe. You’ll realise how much I enjoy Sue’s writing when I share other Linda’s Book Bag posts with and about her below! I’d like to thank the Romantic Novelist Association’s Media Star of the Year, Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources, for inviting me to participate and Avon Books for sending me a copy of Under the Mistletoe in return for an honest review.

Before I share that review, here are the other times Sue has featured. Just click on the titles to read more:

My review of Under the Italian Sun

My review of Summer on a Sunny Island

My review of Let It Snow

Discussing One Summer in Italy

An interview with Sue Moorcroft

A guest post from Sue on over-sharing and my review of The Christmas Promise

A guest post from Sue on her fantasy holiday companions

My review of Just For The Holidays

A guest post from Sue on loving a village book

My review of The Little Village Christmas

My review of A Christmas Gift

Under the Mistletoe was published by Harper Collins imprint Avon on 28th October 2021 and is available for purchase through the links here.

Under the Mistletoe

Snuggle up with a mince pie, a cup of cocoa and the most heartwarming book this Christmas from the bestselling Sue Moorcroft.

Christmas. A time for family, friends – and rekindling old flames…

When Laurel returns to the village of Middledip, she’s looking for a quiet life. Adjusting to her recent divorce, she’s ready to spend some time getting back on her feet amidst the glorious snow-dusted countryside.

Yet, life in Middledip is far from straightforward. Coming to the aid of her sister, Rea, as she navigates her own troubles, Laurel barely has a moment to think about where her own life is going.

However, time stands still when she sees her old flame, Grady Cassidy – and it’s soon as if they’ve never been apart. But through her happiness, Laurel remembers why she left the village all those years ago, as she recalls a dark night and Grady’s once-wayward brother, Mac…

Can Laurel learn to forgive and forget? Or will her chances of Christmas under the mistletoe with Grady remain a dream?

An enchanting, festive read, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Carole Matthews.

My Review of Under the Mistletoe

Laurel has returned to Middledip.

Quite honestly, it wouldn’t be Christmas without a book from Sue Moorcroft, and in Under the Mistletoe, the spirit of Christmas shines through in so many ways that the book is a true embodiment of the season. There are kisses under the mistletoe, Christmas fairs, repeats on TV, traditional food and gorgeous gifts that mean any reader can relate to the story and feel immersed in the narrative. I thought the artistic aspect of the book was wonderful. The painting and crafting left me inspired to try something new for myself and it was obvious that Sue Moorcroft has researched techniques brilliantly.

It was just lovely to return to the Middledip setting with new and familiar characters, but anyone not having read one of Sue Moorcroft’s previous books set here can simply enjoy the story as a standalone read. I loved the cold descriptions of snow, frost and fog that help build a Christmassy feeling as they are balanced by warmth through hot chocolates and relationships so that Under the Mistletoe feels just perfectly presented.

Laurel’s return to Middledip is precipitated by several events that help build the plot and make Under the Mistletoe a really engrossing read. Whilst this is an uplifting and positive book, many of the themes have a deeper and more emotionally affecting aspect that give Under the Mistletoe layer upon layer of interest. Emotional baggage, trauma and the way the past affects our present are particularly engaging and I felt that Sue Moorcroft had really uncovered the human soul in this book whilst making it an entertaining and joyful read. That’s very skilful writing. The deeper, darker aspects of the story don’t detract from the wonderfully positive experience of reading Under the Mistletoe where there is humour and enthusiasm, particularly through the glorious Daisy, community spirit and love in many forms.

I thought Laurel was perfectly drawn and I was frustrated by her self-destructive inability to move on from her past. That said, she was presented so sensitively, and so realistically that I understood completely why she is as she is. Her relationships with Alex, Grady and Mac feel authentic and, consequently, very moving.

It’s always so tricky to say too much without spoiling the read for others, but alongside a top quality romantic read in Under the Mistletoe there’s warmth, depth and a totally engrossing story that is perfect escapism for a winter’s afternoon. I thought it was just lovely.

About Sue Moorcroft

Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has reached the coveted #1 spot on Amazon Kindle UK as well as top 100 in the US. She’s won the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, Readers’ Best Romantic Novel award and the Katie Fforde Bursary. Sue’s emotionally compelling, feel-good novels are currently released by publishing giant HarperCollins in the UK, US and Canada and by other publishers around the world. She’s also well known for short stories, serials, columns, writing ‘how to’ and courses. Born in Germany into an army family, Sue spent much of her childhood in Cyprus and Malta but settled in Northamptonshire, England aged ten. She loves reading, Formula 1, travel, time spent with friends, dance exercise and yoga.

You can follow Sue on Twitter @SueMoorcroft, find her on Instagram and Facebook and visit her website.

There’s more with these other bloggers too:

5 thoughts on “Under the Mistletoe by Sue Moorcroft

  1. Thank you, thank you for such a splendiferous review, Linda! That’s awesome! Thank you also for joining the blog tour, even though you’re cutting back on reviewing commitments, and, of course, for being a member of Team Sue Moorcroft. xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.