Staying in with Kelly Creighton on Problems with Girls Publication Day

It’s a real thrill to be staying in with Kelly Creighton on publication day to discuss her brand new novel Problems with Girls. I’m delighted she’s here so let’s see what Kelly has to tell us:

Staying in with Kelly Creighton

Welcome to Linda’s Book Bag, Kelly. I’m delighted to welcome you here. 

Thank you for having me over on your fabulous blog, Linda.

Thank you for agreeing to stay in with me. I rather think I know, but tell me Kelly, which of your books have you brought along to share this evening and why have you chosen it?

Problems with Girls is the book I have brought. It is book 2 in the DI Harriet Sloane series rounding the series out as distinctly feminist and is out today!

Happy publication day Kelly. What can we expect from an evening in with Problems with Girls?

The Sloane series is set in East Belfast and has that typical dark NI humour, but I also hope it says something about our society at the minute, which crime fiction usually does. It deals with cyberbullying, mental health and how young women are an invisible part of our society in Northern Ireland.

It sounds as if the DI Harriet Slaone series is incredibly pertinent to today’s society. So, what else have you brought along and why have you brought it?

I have brought a bottle of Merlot. I wish I could drink red wine but unfortunately it gives me migraines. I have to stick to white wine.

Oh. I’m with you on that. I can’t drink wine. 

Harriet enjoys a glass of Merlot though, sometimes too many. It would be the perfect accompaniment to the book and I know of a writer who did read an ARC copy and had a glass or two as he did. To mark the launch of the book today (20 November) I am having an online event on Zoom this evening called Crime and Cocktails. It is a b.y.o.b. event to celebrate great new books that have come out lately, or will be shortly, by myself, James Murphy, Simon Maltman, Sharon Dempsey and Cara Finegan.

What a brilliant way to celebrate Problems with Girls publication day in these strange times. Have a wonderful time Kelly. I understand readers can still sign up for this event. Thanks so much for staying in and telling us a bit about the book. You pour yourself a glass of white wine and I’ll give everyone all the details they need for Problems with Girls.

Thanks Linda!

Problems with Girls

Where are the young women here? Can you even see them?

After taking some leave, DI Harriet Sloane comes back to work at Strandtown PSNI station, East Belfast, to be faced with a murder case. A young political activist has been stabbed to death in the office of a progressive political party where she works as an intern. The killer seems to have a problem with girls, and is about to strike again.

Set in 2018, a month after the Belfast Rape Trial and the #ibelieveher rallies that took place throughout Ireland, this novel asks questions about cyberbullying, mental health and consent.

Problems with Girls is a fast-paced detective novel that will keep you gripped till the very last word.
Problems with Girls is perfect for fans of Denise Mina.

Published by Friday Press today, 20th November 2020, Problems with Girls is available for purchase directly from the publisher.

About Kelly Creighton

Kelly Creighton is a creative writing teacher and the author of the DI Sloane novels, as well as the psychological thriller The Bones of It which was the San Diego Book Review 2015 Novel of the Year and longlisted for the Kate O’Brien Award.She also writes short stories, having edited short story journal The Incubator for years. Kelly Creighton published her first short story collection Bank Holiday Hurricane to critical acclaim and it was longlisted for the 2018 Edge Hill Prize and shortlisted for a Saboteur Award. She lives in Co Down, Northern Ireland.

For more information about Kelly, visit her website, or follow her on Twitter @KellyCreighto16.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.