Staying in with Erik Therme

Keep Her Close

I absolutely love a psychological thriller and when I discovered Erik Therme had a brand new one out I had to ask him on to Linda’s Book Bag to tell me all about it. I only wish life had enabled me to read it as it sounds a cracker. Let’s find out more as Erik stays in with me.

Staying in with Erik Therme

Welcome to Linda’s Book Bag Erik. Thank you for agreeing to stay in with me.

Thanks so much for having me. “Staying in” seems to be underrated these days, but if you have good company and good tea, what more do you need? Outside of a 9:30 bedtime, of course!

(Well of course. I much prefer to be be in with a cuppa. I’ll just put the kettle on…)

Tell me, which of your books have you brought along to share this evening and why have you chosen it?

Keep Her Close

I have in my possession my newly released crime thriller, Keep Her Close.

(I understand Keep Her Close came out on 5th December Erik. Happy one week birthday!)

The book is very special to me, as the story revolves around a father and his daughter, who has recently left home for college. When my own daughter left for college last year, I found myself in a state of constant worry, and my imagination ran wild at the thought of her going missing. The book was difficult to write at times, but it was a good way for me to address my fears in a safe, fictional environment.

(Writing has many benefits I think Erik and writing what you know has obviously contributed to Keep Her Close! I’m sure many parents are terrified when their children fly the nest – at whatever age.)

What can we expect from an evening in with Keep Her Close?

A lot of movement in a short amount of time. The majority of the story unfolds over a few, frantic hours, where we’re introduced to a slew of colorful characters who might—or might not—have something to do with the daughter’s disappearance.

(Keep Her Close sounds gripping.)

One of the things that drew me to this story was my fascination with people’s motivations and the choices they make, because even the best of us have dark moments. Do the ends justify the means? Do two wrongs make a right? These are the types of questions that drove my characters to do what they did.

(I agree completely. I’ve had a few dark thoughts myself at times and I often wonder how far we might go when we really have to…)

What else have you brought along and why?

Gremlins

Only the necessities: Mt. Dewand my Mogwai slippers (from the movie Gremlins). I’m convinced both are magically tied to my muse, and I never leave home – or stay in – without them.

(Writers do have some strange rituals and beliefs at times I think Erik! Those slippers are very fetching…)

Thanks so much, Erik, for agreeing to stay in with me and tell me about Keep Her Close. I feel sure I shall be reading it very soon as it sounds exactly my kind of book.

Keep Her Close

Keep Her Close

Someone took your daughter. And nobody believes you…

Then:
Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot.
She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter.
What kind of person would abandon their daughter?

Now:
Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family.
But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.

A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll. 

Keep Her Close was published on 5th December by Bookouture and is available for purchase on Amazon UK and Amazon US.

About Erik Therme

Erik Therme Author

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature.

You can join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways, visit Erik’s website for more details and follow him on Twitter @ErikTherme. You’ll also find Erik on Facebook.

9 thoughts on “Staying in with Erik Therme

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.