Staying in with Julienne Brouwers

Now, there might be a slight feeling of deja vu with this post as I stayed in briefly with Julienne a short while ago. Sadly we had to remove that post as there was an issue with the cover of the Double Deceit. Since then, the fabulous team at Head of Zeus have collaborated with Julienne to create a cracking new cover and what a cracking cover it is. I still haven’t had time to read Double Deceit, but I’m delighted to welcome (back) Julienne to Linda’s Book Bag today. Let’s find out more:

Staying in with Julienne Brouwers

Welcome to Linda’s Book Bag Julienne. Thank you for agreeing to stay in with me.

Hello Linda. Thank you very much for having me. I did not know your website before. I am from the Netherlands, but I am truly impressed!

That’s very kind. Thank you!

I think I know, but tell me, which of your books have you brought along to share this evening and why have you chosen it?

Double Deceit, which is my first thriller in English. I have written two thrillers in Dutch, my mother tongue and I am very excited I can broaden my horizon now. The story in itself is easily relatable to and I very much hope that readers in the UK will enjoy the book as well.

My goodness. That’s impressive. Writing in another language can’t be easy. I tried to learn Dutch once and gave up!

So, what can we expect from an evening in with Double Deceit?

Expect an evening of curling up on the couch, unexpected plot twists and revelations, and being drawn into a book you won’t want to put down anymore – well that’s what the first readers said about it. It supposedly has a fast and easy flow to it, that I hope will go down well.

That sounds like my kind of book. Tell me more.

The thriller is set in Amsterdam and provides a glimpse of everyday life in the Dutch capital. The lead character is a strong and relatable woman, struggling after the sudden death of her husband as she’s left behind to take care of her toddler. Her determination to carry on though, in the face of everything – and to go far beyond what many would dare to, for the sake of finding answers and justice for her husband’s death – is intended to be inspiring. It’s a thriller at heart, with many twists and turns, but there’s an element of romance as well, and a deeper message touching on the transient nature of life.

I think Double Deceit sounds brilliant. And I like the thought of going back to Amsterdam. I haven’t been there since my tenth wedding anniversary!

What else have you brought along and why?

I have brought with me a pack of stroopwafels, a typical Dutch rich, caramel cookie that people from abroad usually love. Perhaps it would be nice to combine this with a cup of tea of a fine English blend? Tea is one of the favourite drinks of my main character Jennifer as well, however for a large part of the book she’s struggling to stay away from wine, which she has resorted to, in an attempt to drown out her grief over the loss of her husband and the secrets she discovered about him after he suddenly passed away.

Tea and a plate of stroopwafels sounds absolutely perfect to me!

When I started writing this book in Dutch, almost ten years ago, I lived in Amsterdam and found this vibrant city a truly inspiring environment – the canals, the little bridges, all the bikes cycling around like crazy.

I think it would be perfect to visit Amsterdam through Double Deceit Julienne. I still can’t believe you’ve written in a language that isn’t your first one.

I have always had a soft spot for the English language – I lived in the UK for a few years as a child and later in the US for a year – so I felt incredibly blessed when I met editor and translator Sarah Fencott to help me with writing the English version, Double Deceit, further shaping the story along the way as well.

It sounds to me as if Double Deceit would be a fantastic read Julienne. Thanks so much for staying in with me to chat all about it. Now, you pour the tea and plate up the stroopwafels whilst I’ll tell readers more about Double Deceit.

Double Deceit

What if you were framed for a murder you didn’t commit? A gripping, addictive thriller for fans of Angela Clarke, Mel Sherratt and Rachel Lynch.

Jennifer Smits is a young mother, married to a hotshot lawyer and living in Amsterdam. Her world explodes when her husband is found dead at a holiday park during a weekend getaway. Convinced that the police have failed in their investigation, she embarks on a desperate quest for the truth – but the deeper she digs, the more she gets enmeshed in a tangled web of lies, spun by a ruthless law firm.

As Jennifer’s search for answers intensifies, her grip on reality weakens. Barely able to manage her patients at the health clinic, or take care of her young son, Jennifer is at risk of losing it all – even her closest friends begin to desert her. And then a chance encounter with a charming stranger sparks a new chain of events that plunges her deeper into a world of threats and corruption. Soon, she begins to fear for her life – but who can she trust, and how far will she go in pursuit of the truth?

This is a gripping, addictive thriller that will make you question everything, including the flaws of forensics. Could we all be framed for a murder we didn’t commit?

Double Deceit is available for purchase here.

About Julienne Brouwers

Julienne Brouwers worked as a pharmaceutical scientist and medical physicist before becoming a writer. She lives in the Netherlands, with her husband and three children, where she has published two successful thrillers, and lived in the UK and US for a total of four years.

You can follow Julienne on Twitter @JulienneAuthor, Instagram and Facebook.

There’s more with these other bloggers too:

2 thoughts on “Staying in with Julienne Brouwers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.