Discussing Mulberry Lane Babies with Rosie Clarke

9781786693006

My grateful thanks to Melanie Price at Aria Fiction for inviting me to be part of the launch celebrations of Mulberry Lane Babies by Rosie Clarke. I’m thrilled to have Rosie staying in with me today to chat all about the book.

Published by Aria on 1st June 2018, Mulberry Lane Babies is available for purchase on AmazonKoboiBooks and Google Play.

Mulberry Lane Babies

9781786693006

1941 Mulberry Lane, London. War rages but new life brings new hope. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.

Times are hard for all on Mulberry Lane as the war rages into yet another year. Desperate times push people into dangerous situations, and the residents of Mulberry Lane are not exempt.

Menacing shadows lurk on dark street corners, threatening the safety of those who are alone and vulnerable. When Peggy’s twins are born early Maureen and Nellie are there to lend a helping hand.

The mothers of Mulberry Lane stick together despite the grim conditions of war torn London and a shadowy fear that stalks their lives. Neighbours and friends look out for each other and new life brings hope and joy to the Lane.

Staying in with Rosie Clarke

Welcome to Linda’s Book Bag, Rosie. I’m delighted you’re here. Thank you for agreeing to stay in with me.

Hi, nice to join you and I hope you and your friends have a good evening and I’m delighted to share it with you.

I’m sure we will. Help yourself to coffee and cake. I have a pretty good idea, but tell me, which of your books have you brought along to share this evening and why have you chosen it? 

9781786693006

The book I’ve brought this evening is Mulberry Lane Babies.  This is the latest of my books and the third in the Mulberry Lane series.  Those readers who have read the earlier books will be eager to discover what is happening to Peggy, Maureen, Janet and the others…

(I know they will Rosie. I always want to know what happens to the people I meet in books after I’ve read about them.)

What can we expect from an evening in with Mulberry Lane Babies

This is the third book in the Mulberry Lane series and catches up with Peggy and Maureen after their babies are born.  It is a continuing saga of war time and the community of an East End London community.

(Linda’s Book Bag readers will probably already know The Girls of Mulberry Lane and A Wedding at Mulberry Lane.)

They have come through the blitz and survived but now they have to face shortages – and in some cases the tragedy of lost lovers and injured men back from a terrible war.  When everything is black these ladies find a way to make life worth living and the new babies help to bring smiles to their faces.

Many readers now feel they know these ladies and although they have their favourites, most say it is like knowing Peggy or Maureen or Janet.  Jack and his son Tom are the easiest characters to like and I’m sure we’ve all met men like them, helpful and cheerful against all the odds.

In this book Anne finds love and we see more of her story than we have in earlier books.  She is the friend of the main characters but now we see her blossom and her story grow. These books are about ordinary folk living their lives out in the shadow of war.

There have been lots of positive reviews for both Girls of Mulberry Lane and A Wedding at Mulberry Lane, and most seem to agree that they give a realistic picture of women living through the hardships of war and finding comfort in the small pleasures and triumphs offered them.  It is as close to the way things were then as I can make it and I hope the series continues to give pleasure.

(I know it will Rosie. I’ve heard such good things about the whole series and am looking forward to meeting Peggy, Maureen, Janet and Anne for myself very soon.)

What else have you brought along and why? 

champagne and strawbs

I enjoy a nice glass of white wine sometimes in the evenings and a box of something sweet and delicious.  Not what the doctor ordered, but very enjoyable.  Perhaps something decadent like champagne and strawberries dipped lightly in chocolate – how would that go down?

(That would be perfect. You’re my kind of guest Rosie. And my husband is a doctor – albeit of Chemistry – so we’ll get him to order these for us so we don’t feel so guilty!)

I’ve also brought a memory. I remember going down the East End to the markets when I was very young and there were many empty spaces where the bombs had laid waste to the area.  Billboards were surrounded by weeds knee high and this was in the middle of the city, because it took so long to clear all the devastation.  And I remember queuing for fruit – it was a treat to buy a banana or a pomegranate and a stick of rock was a rare treat then…

I can’t imagine what that must have been like. Thank you so much for such a lovely evening Rosie. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed staying in with you to discuss Mulberry Lane Babies.

Well, thank you for the chance to chat and the coffee and cake, and goodnight.

Best wishes, Rosie Clarke

About Rosie Clarke

ROSIE CLARKE

Rosie Clarke is happily married and lives in a quiet village in East Anglia. Writing books is a passion for Rosie, she also likes to read, watch good films and enjoys holidays in the sunshine. She loves shoes and adores animals, especially squirrels and dogs.

You can follow Rosie on Twitter @AnneHerries and visit her website. You’ll also find Rosie on Facebook.

There’s more with these other bloggers too:

Mulberry Lane Babies Blog Tour

4 thoughts on “Discussing Mulberry Lane Babies with Rosie Clarke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.