Would Like to Meet by Polly James

would like to meet

My grateful thanks to Helena Sheffield for a copy of Polly James’s Would Like To Meet in return for an honest review. Released by Avon Books in e-book and paperback on 30th June 2016, Would Like To Meet is available on Amazon, from Waterstones, W H Smith and Harper Collins.

Would Like To Meet

would like to meet

An hilarious, heart-warming read perfect for fans of Shirley Valentine and You’ve Got Mail.

Could the worst thing that’s ever happened to Hannah Pinkman also turn out to be one of the best?

She and her husband Dan have reached the end of the line. Bored with the same gripes, the same old arguments – in fact, bored with everything – they split up after a trivial row turns into something much more serious.

Now Hannah has to make a new life for herself, but that’s not easy. She’s been so busy being a wife and mum that she’s let all her other interests slip away, along with her friends. And when Hannah is persuaded to join a dating site, her ‘best match’ is the very last person she expects it to be . . .

A clever, funny and poignant novel about life after a long relationship, the importance of friendship, and rediscovering your identity.

My Review of Would Like to Meet

When a brief petty argument leads to a permanent separation for Hannah and Dan Pinkman, they find being single again isn’t as easy as they’d hoped.

My goodness I’m grateful for this book. Life has been extremely difficult over the last week or so and Would Like to Meet has been the perfect antidote. It is funny, entertaining and wonderfully warm so that I have found myself laughing when I thought the chances of that happening again in the near future were very remote. Polly James has incredible skill in turning a phrase to encapsulate exactly how a middle aged woman like me might think, feel and speak, even when we don’t have the same experiences as Hannah. Reading Would Like to Meet has been like having a break from the challenges of life at the most expensive health spa and I feel refreshed as a result.

Polly James has such an effortless, flowing style, making Would Like to Meet a pleasure to read. I also really enjoyed the fact that the narrative is chronological, spanning a year without the challenge of time slip or dual narratives so that I could be entertained without having to think too hard. This is perfect escapism.

The main character, Hannah, frequently addresses the reader directly so that they feel part of the story too. I thought all the characters were well defined – even when they themselves weren’t sure exactly who they were or wanted to be.

Even though this is a lighthearted read, there’s a strong message about grasping experiences in both hands, not taking things for granted and making the most of life.

I thoroughly enjoyed Would Like to Meet by Polly James and if, like me, life has been hard recently, I’d recommend you allow yourself a little relief and read it as soon as you can.

About Polly James

You can follow Polly James on Twitter and find out more by visiting Polly’s website and blog.

2 thoughts on “Would Like to Meet by Polly James

  1. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this book and that it brought you some relief. It does sound quite interesting. I have been reading psychological thrillers for a while now so this sounds like it would give me a good break from the dark themes. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s